Xfce 4.8 comes to Xubuntu Natty

Xfce 4.8 released, see www.xfce.org

Xfce 4.8 seems to be fully implemented in Xubuntu Natty 11.04 now, I’ve been running Xubuntu since Alpha 1 having decided I don’t want either Unity, it’s fallback Gnome or Gnome shell and am loving it. I’m running it on my laptop as the main o/s doing safe upgrades every few days and [fingers crossed] not had any problems. I think Xubuntu is going to be my new main o/s and am looking forward to Alpha 2 in February when I’ll be testing it on my spare “testing” PC .

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Xfce 4.8 comes to Xubuntu Natty”

  1. michael Says:

    I’m really impressed with both Xfce 4.8 and the Natty base it runs on. I downloaded the mini.iso and did a from-the-ground-up install with Xfce4 and the stuff I’d want to use with it. It’s screamingly fast.

  2. ben Says:

    I think I’m going to give XFCE a try. I’ve been using Unity for a few days since putting Natty on my netbook, it is more polished than Gnome Shell but the break from conventions is quite annoying. I still instinctively go to the bottom of the screen to manage running programs, and to the top right to click the window close button. XFCE may be a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

