Firefox crashing on flash sites

Jaunty – Firefox – Gnome desktop

My Firefox constantly crashes when viewing flash based site such as BBC iplayer & Flickr. It was fine using Intrepid but the upgrade to Jaunty has done something and as it’s doing it on both my laptop and desktop both recently upgraded to Jaunty. First I closed Firefox then removed the installed plugins typing the following into a Terminal;

sudo apt-get remove –purge swfdec-mozilla mozilla-plugin-gnash flashplugin-nonfree

Then I installed the adobe flash plugin, with;

sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin

Tested and failed! so I downloaded Flash Player 10 .deb file for Ubuntu v8.04 from the adobe Web Site found here, Adobe Flash Player 10 then I closed Firefox and removed the adobe-flashplugin in a Terminal type;

sudo apt-get remove –purge adobe-flashplugin

now I navigated to my download and double clicked on the install_flash_player_10_linux.deb file which opens the [Package installer] and complained there was a newer version in the repositories. I [ok]’d the install and retested Firefox, so far all is well…

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

